Minister Varadkar re-appoints members to the Board of the National Cancer Registry


The Minister for Health, Leo Varadkar, T.D., has re-appointed the existing seven members to the National Cancer Registry Board. The seven board members are:

  • Dr Susan O’Reilly, who will continue in her capacity as Chairperson of the Board. She is CEO of the Dublin Midlands Hospital Group and was formerly Director of the National Cancer Control Progamme, which leads the planning and implementation of the National Strategy for Cancer Control in Ireland, across the spectrum of prevention, screening programmes, surgical oncology, radiation oncology and medical oncology.
  • Mr Michael Conroy, Head of the Cancer, Blood & Organs Policy Unit of the Department of Health has worked across a range of Government Ministries in both policy and programme roles.
  • Ms Orla Dolan, Fundraising Director of the charity Breakthrough Cancer Research. Ms Dolan originally trained as a scientist, and went on to work in Human Resources specifically in Workforce Development and HR systems in the Social and Health Sectors in the United States.
  • Dr Anna Gavin, the founding Director of the N. Ireland Cancer Registry (NICR) which assimilates and collates data on cancers and pre-malignant conditions in Northern Ireland for research, education and planning of services. Dr Gavin is a Consultant in Public Health Medicine.
  • Dr Fenton Howell, the National Tobacco Control Advisor to the Department of Health. He is also a Senior Clinical Lecturer in Public Health in the Department of Public Health and Primary Care at Trinity College Dublin.
  • Dr Catherine Kelly, Consultant Oncologist at the Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin and a Clinical Lecturer at University College Dublin (UCD). Dr Kelly is the newest member of the Board, having been appointed in 2014. She is Chair of the All Ireland Cooperative Oncology Research Group (ICORG) Breast Cancer Group.
  • Mr John McCormack, who is Chief Executive of the Irish Cancer Society and also a Board member of the Health Research Board, the Irish Platform for Patient Organisations Science and Industry, and is an executive member of ICORG and the Prostate Cancer Research Consortium.

The appointees bring a diverse range of expert knowledge to the work of the board. The Minister, in his letter of appointment, expressed his confidence that they would continue to make a valuable and substantial contribution to the work of the National Cancer Registry.

Building 6800
Cork Airport Business Park
Kinsale Road, Cork T12 CDF7
Email Contact us here
Tel: +353 (0) 21 4318014
Fax: +353 (0) 21 4318016

NCRI directions

Go to top